Since 1981,[67] Formula One teams have been required to build the chassis in which they compete, and consequently the terms "team" and "constructor" became more or less interchangeable. This requirement distinguishes the sport from series such as the IndyCar Series which allows teams to purchase chassis, and "spec series" such as GP2, which require all cars be kept to an identical specification. It also effectively prohibits privateers, which were common even in Formula One well into the 1970s.

    The sport's debut season, 1950, saw eighteen teams compete, but due to high costs many dropped out quickly. In fact, such was the scarcity of competitive cars for much of the first decade of Formula One that Formula Two cars were admitted to fill the grids. Ferrari is the oldest Formula One team, the only still-active team which competed in 1950.

    Iconic Formula 1 machinery auctioned in Abu Dhabi

    win exclusive F1® Prizes

    1st prize - Wins 2x Paddoc Club Passes to a 2020 Grand Prix

    2nd prize - 2x Grandstand Tickets and Paddock Passes to a 2020 Grand Prix

    3rd prize - F1 TV Pro or Access depending on territory

    This role involves generally managing the logistics of each F1 Grand Prix, inspecting cars in parc fermé before a race, enforcing FIA rules and controlling the lights which start each race. As the head of the race officials, the race director also plays a large role in sorting disputes amongst teams and drivers. Penalties, such as drive-through penalties (and stop-and-go penalties), demotions on a pre-race start grid, race disqualifications, and fines can all be handed out should parties break regulations. Up to 2019, the race director in Formula One was Charlie Whiting, who died in March 2019.[60]


    Standings Race Results China 2019

    1 Mercedes Mercedes Mercedes 438
    2 Ferrari Ferrari Ferrari 288
    3 Red Bull Racing Red Bull Racing Red Bull Racing 244
    4 McLaren McLaren McLaren 82
    5 Toro Rosso Toro Rosso Toro Rosso 43
    6 Renault Renault Renault 39
    7 Alfa Romeo Racing Alfa Romeo Racing Alfa Romeo Racing 32
    8 Racing Point Racing Point Racing Point 31
    9 Haas F1 Team Haas F1 Team Haas F1 Team 26
    10 Williams Williams Williams 1

    The Formula One series originated with the European Championship of Grand Prix motor racing (q.v. for pre-1947 history) of the 1920s and 1930s. The formula is a set of rules that all participants' cars must meet. Formula One was a new formula agreed upon after World War II during 1946, with the first non-championship races being held that year. The first Formula 1 race was the Turin Grand Prix. A number of Grand Prix racing organisations had laid out rules for a world championship before the war, but due to the suspension of racing during the conflict, the World Drivers' Championship was not formalised until 1947. The first world championship race was held at Silverstone, United Kingdom in 1950. A championship for constructors followed in 1958. National championships existed in South Africa and the UK in the 1960s and 1970s. Non-championship Formula One events were held for many years, but due to the increasing cost of competition, the last of these occurred in 1983.[10] On 26 November 2017, Formula One unveiled its new logo, following the 2017 season finale in Abu Dhabi during the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit. The new logo replaced F1's iconic 'flying one', which had been the sport's trademark since 1993.[11]


    2019 Drivers Standings

    1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 250
    2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 188
    3 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 181
    4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 156
    5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 132
    6 Pierre Gasly Red Bull Racing 63
    7 Carlos Sainz McLaren 58
    8 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing 31
    9 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 27
    10 Lando Norris McLaren 24
    11 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 22
    12 Lance Stroll Racing Point 18
    13 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team 18
    14 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 17
    15 Alexander Albon Toro Rosso 16
    16 Sergio Perez Racing Point 13
    17 Romain Grosjean Haas F1 Team 8
    18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing 1
    19 Robert Kubica Williams 1
    20 George Russell Williams